12 students receive 2013 Patricia Gurin Certificate of Merit in Intergroup Relations


May 5, 2013

The Patricia Gurin Certificate of Merit in Intergroup Relations is awarded to seniors who have demonstrated academic mastery in intergroup relations. The award's requirements include peer facilitation of intergroup dialogues, multiple courses in intergroup relations, and a high level of academic achievement in these courses. We held a reception on May 2 in honor of the graduating seniors who were recipients of this award.

This year's recipients are: Evalyn Carter, Jessica Curhan, Rohan Dharan, Chaddrick Gallaway, Melanie Hebeisen, Yonah Lieberman, Colleen Moran, Amy Navvab, Laura Parkinson, Celine Smith, Nora Stephens, and Stephany Trujillo.

Congratulations to all of you on your excellent achievement!

The Patricia Gurin Certificate of Merit in Intergroup Relations is named in honor of Dr. Patricia Gurin, Nancy Cantor Distinguished Professor Emerita. Dr. Gurin’s courageous and loving leadership in the cause of social justice inspires and informs the work of IGR.

Dr. Gurin serves as IGR’s Research Director. She is one of the nation’s pre-eminent scholars on the benefits of structured interactions in intergroup relations. Her innovative ideas, respect for academic and student affairs as mutually supportive entities, and mentoring of young scholars and students through many years is truly inspirational.